The Dynamics


Previous: A Basic Model of Universe
Next: The Self
Reference: The Quest for Certainty

We may start from the concept that there is always something to know; that there is no absolute knowledge. This ultimate concept may be looked upon as “Supreme Being” or Brahma. A version of it is considered to be the Eighth Dynamic by Hubbard of Scientology.

The “static” is the orientation point from which to view this vast universe. This reference point is theoretical but very essential. All properties of the universe must converge back to this point for orientation. Hubbard has a version of it as the Seventh Dynamic.

The universe is not only material but also spiritual. The material aspects are MEST (matter, energy, space and time), and the spiritual aspects are ICAD (identity, consciousness, awareness and desire). The material and spiritual aspects of the universe cannot be separated. Hubbard has a version of it as the Sixth Dynamic.

This universe evolves from the disturbance of the fabric of Space-awareness by the presence of Time-Desire. As a result, first there is Energy-consciousness, which then condenses into Matter-identity. Then there is progressive evolution of Matter-identity into minerals, plant life, and animal life. This evolution has now culminated in sentient humans. Hubbard refers to a version of the above as Fifth Dynamic.

When we focus on the highest form of evolution of this universe, we have Mankind as Fourth Dynamic. We can then look at the division of Mankind into Groups as the Third Dynamic. We may highlight the organization of the procreation activity among humans as the Second Dynamic. Finally, we may regard the individual person and his individuality as the First Dynamic.

Here we have a philosophy of evolution that is logically anchored in the Eighth Dynamic. The proper sequence of Dynamics occurs from Eighth to First. However, Hubbard reverses this sequence by making individuality as the center piece of his philosophy of Scientology. Thus, Hubbard’s philosophy of Scientology is backwards.

When we consider the Eighth Dynamic as the anchor, we notice that there is no limit to knowledge. Evolution has been bringing order to the surrounding disorder by trial and error. Now that evolution has culminated in sentient humans, it is obvious that the  trial and error mode is being replaced by a sentient approach for future evolution.

Science has done a great job in the investigation of the physical aspects of this universe. It has come up with many physical laws. However, science has lagged behind in the investigation of the metaphysical aspects of this universe. We must now come up with metaphysical laws that are as precise as the physical laws in order to evolve further.

Man as the most evolved organism must discover, understand and follow the basic laws of the universe to evolve further.


Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.


  • vinaire  On September 20, 2016 at 7:48 AM

    To summarize, Hubbard’s THETA is made up of several different concepts. THETA is made up of static, the disturbance [active agent in the form of desire], awareness, consciousness, and identity. The outer forms of these elements are Time, space, energy and matter.

    Disturbance goes with time, awareness goes with space, consciousness goes with energy, and identity goes with matter.

    MEST is matter, energy, space and time. The counterpart of that in “Theta universe” is ICAD (identity, consciousness, awareness and disturbance). Below all this lies the STATIC.

    So, the heiarchy is,

    STATIC (the reference point of absolute zero ICAD and MEST)
    ICAD (identity, consciousness, awareness and disturbance)
    MEST (matter, energy, space and time)

    Here ICAD spells out the components of THETA.


%d bloggers like this: